Who We Are

Michael Dunne - President (2008-2011)
Fiachra Long - Vice President (2009-2012)
Sarah Otten - Treasurer (2008-2011)
Fr. Gavan Jennings Hon. Secretary (2009-2012)
Catherine Kavanagh Committee member (2009-2012)
Julia Hynes - Committee member (2009-2012)
Martin McDonnell Committee member (2009-2012)

Michael Dunne - President (2008-2011)

mDepartment of Philosophy
National University of Ireland
Co. Kildare
Email: michael.w.dunne@nuim.ie

Michael Dunne is currently the Head of the Department of Philosophy in NUIM, where he has lectured since 1999. After graduating from UCD in 1985, he went to Italy as a research assistant with the Index Thomisticus. While in Italy, he also embarked upon the project of researching some of Ireland’s mediaeval university philosophical heritage. Beginning with the person of Peter of Ireland (ca. 1200-1265), he undertook the edition of the extant works. These researches formed the basis of his doctoral thesis, which was later published.

Back to top

Fiachra Long - Vice-President (2009-2012)

f Department of Education, University College Cork, Cork
Telephone: (021) 490 2262
Email: FLong@education.ucc.ie

Fiachra Long is a Lecturer in the Philosophy of Education at UCC. He holds degrees from UCD and Louvain-la-Neuve where he completed a philosophy doctorate on Augustinian influences on Maurice Blondel. He publishes in the philosophy of education, philosophy and theology and has published Maurice Blondel: The Idealist Illusion (2000) and, as editor, Theology in the University (1997).

Back to top


Sarah Otten - Treasurer (2008-2011)

s Carlow College, College Road, Carlow
Email: sotten@carlowcollege.ie

Sarah Otten has lectured at Carlow College since 2003. She obtained degrees from Galway, Limerick and Bowling Green (Ohio), with diversions to Namibia and Malawi for a number of years. She is currently pursuing a doctorate on Adam Smith at Trinity College.


Back to top


Fr. Gavan Jennings - Hon. Secretary (2009-2012)

g 10 Hume Street, Dublin 2.
Telephone: (01) 6767 420
Email: gavjennings@gmail.com

Fr. Gavan Jennings did his MA on Berkeley in University College Dublin and PhD on Aristotle in the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross, Rome. He gives courses on Thomistic Philosophy and Theology.


Back to top


Catherine Kavanagh - Committee member (2009-2012)

c Department of Philosophy
Mary Immaculate College
South Circular Rd.
Telephone: (061) 204904
Email: catherine.kavanagh@mic.ul.ie

Catherine Kavanagh lectures in Philosophy at Mary Immaculate College (University of Limerick). She received her B.A. and M. Phil. from UCD and her Ph.D. from the University of Notre Dame. She was formerly IRCHSS Fellow in the School of Classics at UCD, and has worked at the Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino, Florence, funded by the Italian Ministero degli Affari Esteri. She has published work on several aspects of early medieval philosophy, and is currently working on the impact of the Byzantine tradition on Eriugena’s thought.

Back to top

Julia Hynes- Committee member (2009-2012)

Queens University Belfast

Julia Hynes completed her PhD in Philosophical Medical Ethics at the Queens University of Belfast in 2008. She is currently lecturing in bioethics for the Priory Institute in Dublin and holds the position of teaching assistant at QUB and St.Malachy's Diocesan Seminary, Belfast. She sits on the Clinical Ethics Committee for the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust as a lay member.


Back to top

Martin McDonnell - Committee member (2009-2012)

mj Ballyrobbin
South Circular Rd.
Telephone: 061 227 418

Email: ballyrobbin@topmail.ie

Martin J. Mc Donnell, Certified Public Accountant. Diploma in Philosophy-1984. Founder member of the Limerick Philosophical Society in 1984. Reading/writing philosophy five hours a day, four days a week, since 1989, when I retired. Main areas of interest: Aristotle, Aquinas, Lonergan.

Back to top